Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How to Manage Adding New Users to a MustMeet Event

Deal with late-comers and new arrivals

It's possible to add new participants to a MustMeet event at almost any point in the event. However, the process is markedly different depending on whether you're using the modern Grip Engage Scheduler or the legacy MustMeet platform, which has significant limitations.

Contents

Adding new users during the initial phases

During the time that the platform is open for the users to update their profile or select their preferences, event organizers can add new participants through any registration method with no issues.

Depending on how long is left for the preferences phase, it's worth considering whether the newcomer will need some support adding preferences.

Adding new users during the Closed phase/Live phase

Ideally, new users should not be added at this stage, as adding any new participants who haven't had a chance to select preferences will lower the overall meeting scores in the event.

Sometimes though, this is inevitable. In the cases where a new participant is replacing an existing particpant of the same company, and you want to generate new meetings for them, consider downloading the preferences of the old participant and uploading to the new participant before modifying any meetings. That way their scores should closely match the participant leaving the event.

If you're using the Engage Scheduler (not legacy MustMeet):

If you have already generated your initial meeting schedule and have not made any adjustments:

  1. Add the new user to the Grip event.

  2. 3. Set preferences for the user via the Grip dashboard (if known).

  3. Re-generate the Meeting Scores:

    1. If your new participant has not logged in, you will need to either generate scores with the 'Include inactive participants' option on, or manually log in as them to activate them.
    2. If you generate scores with the 'Include inactive participants' option on, ensure that there are no other inactive participants that you want to deliberately exclude from meetings, as their scores would be regenerated at the same time.
  4. Decide whether you want to generate schedules just for this new participant, or whether you want to regenerate schedules for all existing participants. If you've made manual changes to people's meetings then it's best to generate only for the new participant and leave the existing meetings intact.

    1. If you just want to create meetings for the new participant, go to their Schedule via the Meeting Schedules page, and click on the Generate Schedules button. Meetings will be booked for them with any other free participants.
    2. Or, go to the Scoring & Schedules > Generate schedules and click the Regenerate schedules button, to start the process of regenerating schedules for everyone in MustMeet.

Note: If the schedule has already been published, changes you make now will sync to participants' calendars and Teams immediately.

If you're still using Legacy Scheduler platform:

  1. Add the new participant to the Grip event

  2. Set preferences for the user via the Grip dashboard (if known)

  3. Re-generate the Meeting Scores:

    1. If your new participant has not logged in, you will need to either generate scores with the 'Include inactive participants' option on, or manually log in as them to activate them.
    2. If you generate scores with the 'Include inactive participants' option on, ensure that there are no other inactive participants that you want to deliberately exclude from meetings, as their scores would be regenerated at the same time.
  4. Reload the data in to the legacy MustMeet platform

  5. DO NOT "Generate Meetings" unless you are happy to lose the manual changes that you've previously made.
    Instead, generate just for "empty slots", which will attempt to fill the new participant's schedule without removing the existing meetings. This will still generate for the entire event, filling any other participant's gaps at the same time. There is no option to generate for a single person in the legacy scheduler.

  6. Otherwise, you could also manually assign meetings for the new participant with anyone available, instead of generating.

  7. Approve schedules, so that the new meetings are pushed back to Grip Engage.